NOTABLENOTICE

My Little Corner On The Web…

NOTEABLE READ: Common sits w/ XXL

with one comment

Common recently dropped “Sweet” off his upcoming album “The Dreamer, The Believer” and it quickly raised eyebrows. The track is seemly taken a shot at someone or somebodies. He sat down with XXL to discuss it and other topics.

XXLMag.com: When I heard “Sweet” I though to myself, “I haven’t heard Common talk shit like that since One Day It’ll All Make Sense.” What made you bring that old Common back?

Common: It’s funny you say the old Common, ‘cause one of my boys said, “Man, you remind me of when you was at FAMU [Florida A&M University] when he heard that song. He was like, “I’ve been waiting for that song for 20 years from you. I think what I did was just not put that responsibility of saying, “Man, OK, just because I went to the White House, I can’t express that side of me. Or just because I’m doing this brand partnership and because I am speaking to the kids and say, “Do something right,” that still don’t mean I ain’t an adult that feel like, “Nigga, get yo’ hoe ass out of here,” or I’ma fight when I need to fight. I had to make that decision for myself and part of it was just me being more comfortable in my skin and being like, “I’m a man, I ain’t gotta…

XXL (Whole Article)

 

Written by One

November 4, 2011 at 10:33 AM

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] NOTEABLE READ: Common sits w/ XXL […]


Leave a Comment

