NOTABLENOTICE

My Little Corner On The Web…

NOTEABLE READ: Noah “40” Shebib Interview w/ GQ Magazine

leave a comment »

GQ: At what point did you start introducing your sound to Drake?
Noah “40” Shebib: We started working together strictly on an engineer/artist basis. I didn’t step forward with my stuff for a very long time. We’d dabble here and there, but that wasn’t my place. What happened for me was I didn’t know what—I was tired of hearing a Jermaine Dupri record and going home and trying to make a beat like that and make it as good and not understand why I [wasn’t] a successful producer. I think you’ll find that in a lot of people’s emotional reactions to the industry, if you have talent and are good at what you do. At some point I stopped producing and focused on engineering before I met Drake because I like the technical aspect of it and being hands-on and the recording and mixing and electrical engineering behind it, like the mathematics. I focused on that. It came to a point where Drake, in summer of 2008, while working on Thank Me Later, which became So Far Gone, but by September we decided let’s make a mixtape and we turned it into So Far Gone between January and December of 2009. That summer, 2008, when we were working on the beginnings of the album-to-be, he was looking for producers and he looked so far and so wide. We must have been listening to thousands of records with him trying to find the answer. Of course, nobody had the answers and we’d come back to the drawing board. And at the end of the day, it was us sitting there, going What do we do next? After a while, I had just said no so many times, there was one option left. I knew what I had to make. I had seen him say no to so many people, there was only one thing left he could say yes to. He said no to everything else in existence. So I started making that one thing that no one else had played yet, and that ended up being So Far Gone.

GQ (Whole Article)

Written by One

November 14, 2011 at 2:51 PM

Posted in Music

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Comment

